Equatorial Guinea Joins Community of Portuguese Language Countries - Siouxland News - KMEG 14 and FOX 44

Equatorial Guinea Joins Community of Portuguese Language Countries

Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. WorldNow and this Station make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you have any questions or comments about this page please contact pressreleases@worldnow.com.

SOURCE Republic of Equatorial Guinea

West African Nation is Sixth African Country to Join Community

MALABO, Equatorial Guinea, July 25, 2014 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Republic of Equatorial Guinea officially joined the Community of Portuguese Language Countries (CPLP) at the 10th Summit of Heads of State and Government of the CPLP held on July 23, 2014 in Dili, East Timor.

"The Heads of State and Government adopt the adhesion of Equatorial Guinea as a member State of the CPLP, reiterating the commitment of the community to continue to support the authorities in full compliance with the statutory provisions of the CPLP, in terms of adoption and the effective use of the Portuguese language, the adoption of the moratorium on the death penalty until its abolition, and other interests of the CPLP in the national legislation of Equatorial Guinea," stated the Dili Declaration, which was signed by the CPLP attending presidents.

During his remarks, President Obiang talked about the historical ties between Equatorial Guinea and the lusophone community as one of the reasons his country joined the organization, as well as the need to strengthen trade and cultural exchanges with the states of the institution.

President Obiang recalled that Equatorial Guinea was under the rule of Portugal from 1648 to 1778, when it was transferred to the kingdom of Spain by the treaties of San Ildefonso and El Pardo.

Equatorial Guinea now joins CPLP members Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal, Sao Tomé and Príncipe and East Timor. During the summit, the presidency of the CPLP passed from Mozambique to East Timor, whose President will lead the Portuguese-speaking community until 2016.

Equatorial Guinea is the sixth African country to join the CPLP, which was founded in 1996 and now has nine member countries. The summit aims to promote cooperation among the member countries. Equatorial Guinea has been an observer nation since 2006. Portuguese will become the third official language of the country, following Spanish and French.

Under the theme "The CPLP and globalization," the CPLP recognized the need to provide the CPLP with a strategy on economic and business cooperation to identify possible mechanisms for the support of investment and business within the Community with a view to energize the insertion of the CPLP in the context of Globalization.

About Equatorial Guinea

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea (República de Guinea Ecuatorial) is the only Spanish-speaking country in Africa, and one of the smallest nations on the continent. In the late-1990s, American companies helped discover the country's oil and natural gas resources, which only within the last five years began contributing to the global energy supply. Equatorial Guinea is now working to serve as a pillar of stability and security in its region of West Central Africa. The country hosted the 2011 Summit of the African Union. For more information, visit http://www.guineaecuatorialpress.com.

©2012 PR Newswire. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by WorldNow

Siouxland News
100 Gold Circle
Dakota Dunes, SD 57049

Main Phone: 712-277-3554
Main Fax: 712-255-5250
Email: webmaster@siouxlandnews.com

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2009 WorldNow and Sinclair Communications, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.