29th Annual Women of Excellence Awards - Siouxland News - KMEG 14 and FOX 44

29th Annual Women of Excellence Awards


(SIOUX CITY, IA) The 29th annual Women of Excellence awards ceremony honored both women and men who go the extra mile. Siouxland News anchor Erika Thomas co-hosted the evening with Candice Nash from KSUX Radio. More than 250 people turned out to celebrate 17 nominees, the most since 2007. For the first time, the event featured dessert and appetizer stations instead of a sit-down meal. It also recognized men who focus on empowering women in our community.

"We're just wanting to recognize that some men go out of their comfort zone and do something extra to make sure that there's an equal playing ground for women," says Katie Colling, Women Aware Executive Director.
We also honored the memory of Women Aware board president Ardith Thompson who passed away suddenly in December 2012. The non-profit sold hand-painted wine glasses to raise money for a scholarship created in her name.
2013 Recipients

Women Striving to Improve Quality of Life: Sue Askeland
Women Taking Risks: Dee Phillips
Women Helping Women: Birgit Flom
Women Developing the Community: Nancy Dykstra
Men of Excellence: Dan Moore
Young Women of Excellence: Kari Kellen

To learn more about Women Aware, check out the non-profit's website: http://womenawarescia.org/.

Reported by Erika Thomas. You can contact her at ethomas@siouxlandnews.com.

Friend her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ErikaThomasTV and follow her on Twitter atwww.twitter.com/ErikaThomasTV.


Powered by WorldNow

Siouxland News
100 Gold Circle
Dakota Dunes, SD 57049

Main Phone: 712-277-3554
Main Fax: 712-255-5250
Email: webmaster@siouxlandnews.com

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2009 WorldNow and Sinclair Communications, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.